On the road again

Plans are firmly in place for Arbroath Walking Football Club to hit the road again.

After coming very close to winning the Spanish Masters in Cambrils, the club is travelling to Lake Garda in Italy to try and bring home the Italian Masters Trophy. Failing that, there is always the Cucchiaio di Legno Trophy (the wooden spoon).

The tournament is once again being organised by Walking Football Tours
These Guys have been organising walking football tours for a few years now and it shows, complete professionals from the word go. Oh! the banter is also second to none.

For further information about the competition, please click the link below.
Italian Masters Walking Football

The great debate

He’s running‘. You’ll hear that at almost every session of walking football up and down the country, it’s the most contentious issue in the game. In fact, go on YouTube and search for walking football, you’ll see running during most (if not all) games.

Most of the running is done off the ball, and if you’re reffing a game it’s really difficult to pick this up because you’re focused on the player with the ball and the players close to him, you’re watching for fouls, the number of touches, and of course, running.

Most of the running is down to the fact that the vast majority who play walking football have played football at some level before and the competitive edge still remains with the player; it’s all about getting to the ball first, and at that moment, they forget that they’re playing walking football.

Some of the running happens over just a few steps, in my own opinion, it’s still advantageous to the team in possession. Most of the players don’t even know that they’re running, they’re caught up in the game and the competitiveness takes over.

It’s up to the players to check themselves, if you think you’re running, you almost certainly are. If the ref tells you that you’re running, just accept it and get on with the game. If you’re running and know you are, maybe you should consider playing a game of normal paced football.

I can’t remember who said this, might have been during a friendly I was watching, but it made me laugh – ‘can we not drop this obsession with running and just get on with the game?’ Erm, it’s walking football.

Enjoy the game, folks. Feel free to add your tuppence worth.

Arbroath FC Match Day Experience

Arbroath Walking Football Club were invited to play at Gayfield, the home of Arbroath Football Club On Saturday 26th January 2019 as part of the Gayfield match day experience. The opposition  this time were Dundee Utd Community Trust. The game is played during the half time interval and gives both teams a chance showcase their skills and hopefully attract interest from potential players.

The game was played in a very sporting manner with the Dundee team coming very close to opening the scoring. The final score was a two-one victory for the home side. Kevin Craib was the scorer of both goals for the Arbroath team.

Thanks to Dundee Utd, a very sporting group of players who demonstrated that the game is not just for men. And thanks once again to Arbroath FC for allowing us to play and advertise walking football.

The after-match pose



400 club

Congratulations to AWFs Dave Milne on reaching a total of 400 club goals in all competitions.

In an interview with the club’s publicity officer, Darin Bell, Dave (with tear filled eyes) said “I’d like to thank all the guys at the club, particularly the ones who can’t defend for toffee. I’d also like to thank anyone who’s had to listen to me going on about my goal record in the pubs. You’re all fantastic, happy new year”.

Dave would also like to let the national team selection board know  that he’s available.


Dave Milne at Gayfield



Presentation Night

AWF had their trophy presentation night on Saturday 15th December in the Tutties Neuk.
A great night was had by all. Many thanks to our event organiser, Sye Webster.
The winners of the Match Ball hosptality at Gayfield for the game against Stenhousemuir in March are as follows:
Steve Cargill
Alan Durno
Dave Whitton
Mike Burnett

Now, onto the trophy winners.

Continue reading